Skip to content

The Little Things

It’s been quite a week. I expected to kick off the new school year with my youth groups and move forward on a new healthy homes theme with local mothers. My email inbox* was uncomfortably full of memos, secondary projects, and other seemingly important things I should be doing in my spare time. My plans were re-arranged when I developed exorcism-of-Emily-Rose-style vomiting and diarrhea.

So, I rescheduled sessions, postponed meetings, and did my best to ignore my inbox while I dealt with my body’s revolt of something I ate. (In what appears to be both a blessing and curse, Ian is traveling this week to help with training events. He was spared my grossness, but now the whole town thinks I was sick because he’s gone. Sigh.) My host mom brought me chicken broth, I watched a shameful amount of The Wire, and eventually I called the Peace Corps doctors in Lima for some medicine to fix my intestines. I thought this week was for the birds, but then today brought a blessing. Coincidentally, today also marks 18 months in Perú.

When I first met Yolanda in September, she was three months pregnant. Her reality isn’t uncommon in this corner of the world: she’s 17, single, and she already has a three-year-old daughter. For the past six months or so, I’ve been working with mothers, including Yolanda, in a nearby village named Shipata. In this community one in three children are malnourished. All of the children are anemic. The list goes on.

A local community health promoter facilitates an educational session about nutrition

A local community health promoter facilitates an educational session about nutrition in Shipata

Therefore, in coordination with the Peace Corps health promotion program and local institutions, community health promoters and I have been conducting a healthy homes project to support at-risk families in this community. The campaign includes educational sessions, small in-home modifications, and regular household visits with the family. Fundamentally though, we’re working to modify behaviors. We want the families to adopt healthy practices regarding sanitation, nutrition, family planning, and early childhood stimulation. It’s slow work, but we’re making progress, little by little. I hear mothers talk to each other about their children’s medical appointments. I see children washing their hands with soap. I watch mothers add protein to their child’s plate. 

This afternoon, a friend knocked on my front door to A) see if I was still alive (with Ian gone), and B) let me know that Yolanda just gave birth to a healthy baby girl. She said Yolanda wanted me to visit her in the health center. Maternal mortality rates are high in Amazonas; however, this time Yolanda chose to give birth in the health center with a medical team instead of at home without a midwife or medical professional. The newborn’s weight is normal, which is another incredibly important first step. Mom is healthy; baby girl is healthy. The little changes are finally starting to add up. Many people and institutions played a role in this happy beginning. I’m so grateful I got small part in it.

Later, Yolanda honored me by asking if I would take some photos of her with the little one. (Her name is to be decided.) Here are a few of my favorites:

Little eyes, little nose

Sweet baby girl

Little fingers

Little fingers

Yolanda and baby

Yolanda with her girl

I think she's winking at me here.

I think she’s winking at me here.

 

-a2e

 

*I know, right? Emails in the Peace Corps. Not what I expected either.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Johnnie-Margaret #

    What an inspiring story to begin my day. Thank you for sharing. It really reminds me what is important in life – life! You (and Ian) are doing amazing work that is changing the lives of generations. You’ll never know the lasting impact you have on the “Yolandas of the Amazon”. Keep watching the Wire and resting this week.

    March 15, 2014
  2. One life changed for the next generation to come. Beautiful work with a tremendous outcome. Nourish yourself back to health and know we could not be prouder of your diligent efforts to make positive changes in the well being of others.

    March 15, 2014
  3. Reblogged this on and commented:
    I’m so proud of the work Mom and Dad are doing!

    March 15, 2014
  4. Virginia #

    A pleasure to hear the hard work is successful. May the doctor”s medicine be as successful so you can really enjoy the country. Love Gma

    March 15, 2014
  5. These photos are absolutely stunning. You captured a lovely moment between mama and baby. I love this story, too.

    March 17, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

